Hate On Youtubers and Bloggers Is Getting Ridiculous

Today I wanted to talk about all the hate that’s buzzing around youtubers at the moment, in particular, Zoella (Zoe Sugg).

On the 25th of November, Zoe released her first ever novel ‘Girl Online’. There’s been speculation about whether or not she actually wrote the novel and now there are accusations that she did not. It’s also been revealed that she had help from someone who she acknowledged on the back of her book. This “help” is known as ghostwriting and is extremely common, particularly for entertainers such as Zoella.

I personally think this entire situation is ridiculous. First of all, this was Zoe’s FIRST book. Of course she’s going to need help! Who wouldn’t? Second of all, ghostwriting happens everyday, in every city in every country. So why is the media only going silly about this one case? There are plenty of singers, bands and actors who have also written a book and have had other people write it. But Zoe didn’t just sit back and let someone else do the work. Throughout her vlogs you can see her working hard and we know as viewers that she has such a busy schedule which includes writing a book.

Zoella posted on twitter a few days ago explaining how she would be taking a break from the Internet for a few days and she thanked her fans and supporters for understanding. This is so disappointing to see that she and her boyfriend Alfie Deyes (Pointless blog) have been pushed to the point of leaving the internet for a few days just to get away from all the negativity. Zoe suffers from anxiety and now she has to deal with this. If you don’t like her then don’t watch her videos, don’t read her blog and don’t read her book. It’s simple.

Zoella is a personal inspiration of mine and it saddens me deeply that people would go out of their way to pull someone down. I started blogging because of Zoella and if I ever get the chance to meet her, I’ll tell her how much she’s helped me find my path in life and inspired me to chase my dream of being a designer. She’s given me the confidence to write about my life and my favourite things about being alive in this world.

So please go easy on Zoella who is just living her life and support her. Here’s a link to her youtube channel and her blog. Go check her out!

http://m.youtube.com/user/zoella280390

http://www.zoella.co.uk/?m=1

I also wanted to thank Paul Militaru for following my blog and taking the time to read my posts. You have no idea how much it has meant to me.

On a brighter note, the song for this post is “Yellow Flicker Beat” by ‘Lorde’. This song is included in the Mockingjay Part 1 soundtrack so naturally, I just love it.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=3PdILZ_1P74

Thanks for reading my post today and i hope you’re all having a brilliant day 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

