Discovering Your Sexuality.

Hey guys!

Today I wanted to write about something that is so prominent in today’s society but doesn’t get enough attention.

Sexuality.

Before I begin I just want to state that no, I am not gay but this is a subject I feel very strongly about.

This afternoon I was scrolling through my facebook feed and came across an article about a website that has been launched by an Australian actress, Caitlin Stasey. The website is called herself.com and features individual interviews from women about sexuality and their view on different issues that affect women today.

Reading through this made me think about how little we are told about sexuality while we’re growing up and going through the treacherous process of discovering ourselves.

I think that during ‘Sexual Education’ we need to be informed about the changes that go on in relation to sex and our physical selves. I know that as a child I always thought that I was different. I thought that not everyone thought the way I did about sex. As a child it made me uncomfortable and I was so scared of it as I grew up as a Seventh Day Adventist. I was taught that sex was something that was not to be enjoyed or thought about until marriage.

I’ve now grown not to believe this and I think sex is a beautiful and intimate thing that should be portrayed to teenagers as just this. It shouldn’t be an act that should be feared but something that is anticipated and enjoyed when experienced.

Back to the sexuality part of it, I think that the whole straight to gay ratio is all wrong. I think that there’s a very small percentage of people who are completely and utterly straight. I think that the majority of people are actually mostly bisexual and are just too afraid to see it within themselves. Sure, most of us will prefer one gender over another, like myself, I couldn’t imagine dating or falling in love with a woman but I find the female body attractive. I have only had feelings for or had a crush on boys but I think that women are something so beautiful.

There are so many curves and angles on the human form that are different for every single one of us. I find both men and women sexy, beautiful and attractive but this doesn’t mean I’m ‘gay’ as such. It means that my mind is open to the wonderful things the body can do.

This open mindedness needs to be communicated to the younger generation so that they know it’s okay to be attracted to the same or opposite sex. Only within the last year have I realised that it’s okay to be honest about the fact that I’m attracted to both sexes, however I prefer the male body and mind to the woman.

Discovering your sexuality shouldn’t be something you grow up dreading in case the world doesn’t agree with you. It should be something that is exciting and new.

Let me know what you think. Should sexuality be discussed as much as the rules to safe sex?

Thanks so much for reading this and I hope you can all respect my opinions. And remember, whatever your sexuality is, you shouldn’t be afraid of sex or talking about it.

Thank you! X

Leave a Reply

