Ten Top Tips For A Tip Top Year!

Hello everyone! Today’s post is all about how to enjoy your year and do something memorable. It’s all about learning to experience and experiment with your life to make your year the best yet.

1. Try something new.
Whether it be a new food, a new style of clothing or skydiving, give it a go! You never know if you’ll like it if you don’t try it! It’s in our human nature to be curious, so explore our magnificent world and discover something new about yourself in the process.

2. Fall in love.
This doesn’t necessarily mean with a person (although that would be great), but it can just mean find something you love. Maybe you love sewing or reading or even knitting, just find something you love and do it!

3. Travel.
Take a few day trips to a cute little town or go for a weekend to a big city, whichever floats your boat. Just get out there and see new places and meet new people. You never know what opportunities might arise!

4. Treat yourself.
Every now and then I love to buy myself something nice (usually from Kmart, my one true love). It’s just nice to reward yourself sometimes and make use of that money you’re earning and buy something that will make you happy for a while.

5. De-stress.
DON’T STRESS! Go online and look up some meditation exercises or get involved with yoga to help your mind and body let go of any stress, particularly if you’re in a tough year at school like me or have a high maintenance job.

6. Exercise.
Lately I’ve been going for runs and walks with my dogs and I’ve found it so exhilarating. It boosts your metabolism and your cardio system and also helps to reduce symptoms of anxiety and depression. It’s a win win.

7. Make time for friends.
I always love spending time with my friends, especially my best friend and my boyfriend. It always relaxes me and helps me unwind before or after a SAC at school or something personal that’s been going on. Spending time with your friends can also help to reduce anxiety and depression significantly.

8. Balance between activities.
Make sure you don’t overdo it. There is a fine balance between school, work, homework, hobbies and tv (my favourite) so make sure you find that balance for you so that you don’t exhaust yourself. I’ve had to cut back at work because I  almost ran myself into the ground (hence the not posting for so long) and I was utterly exhausted.

9. Set realistic goals for the year ahead.
This isn’t like a new year’s thing but more of a set of goals that you’d like to achieve. For example, one of my goals is to read the Heroes of Olympus book series by the end of the year. Another goal of mine is to be able to jog for 10 minutes straight. These goals don’t have to be hard ones, they can be as simple as wanting to read a book series.

10. Have fun.
Most importantly, have fun with your year. Do things that make you happy and ignore the things that don’t. Block out the people who ruin your day and focus on those who make it brighter. Go out for dinner or watch a funny movie, just do something fun.

I hope you guys have a fabulous year and let me know of any goals you set or any new things you try!

Head on over to my twitter account at @ElloFrancis97 to receive updates when I make a new post. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

