The Unexpected, Mysterious, Interesting Boy – Chapter 1

This is a new story that I’ve started so I hope you enjoy it 🙂

I shut the door to my room and lean against the back of it as a smile creeps onto my face. I replay the moment in my mind as I try to remember every little detail. He was totally, one hundred percent checking me out. I’ve never been the kind of girl to have flings with people; I’ve always been a relationship kind of person. But he has somehow inspired me to consider flings. I allow myself a little squeal of excitement at my new profound confidence. Maybe I could be the girl that could go out clubbing and hook up with people and never see them again. I mean, it was fun knowing I could be whoever I wanted to be. I can be that flirty and excitable girl that’s not shy around attractive guys. I can just kiss people and walk away with that perfectly teasing smile that challenges them to find you again. But there’s just one problem. I’m not that girl. I can’t wait for Zahra and Harper to get back with lunch so I can tell them about my little adventure down at the bar. We came to Melbourne for a girl’s weekend away after Christmas and before we all start uni and before O week, which is in a few days. I’m going to Melbourne to study sculpting and art while Zahra is off to Geelong for fashion and Harper is studying to become a social worker in our hometown of Leppin. We chose Melbourne as our destination for its amazing old buildings and busy atmosphere. What’s a little chaos in the city compared to three years of artistic chaos at uni? Well, I don’t know yet, I’ll find out in a few days. I start to feel anxious whenever I think about uni. The university is two hours away from home and all my friends and family. I don’t know anyone yet. At least I get to go home every night which means I’ll be commuting to Melbourne everyday for the next three years. Or, at least until I find a place to rent or someone to rent with. Speaking of someone to rent with, maybe mystery boy is looking for a roommate…I move from the door and pass the mirror. I glance at myself with my cheesy grin and roll my eyes. Sometimes I swear it’s impossible for me not to think about anything and everything. I laugh a little and jump onto my bed. I lay sprawled out like a starfish in my swing dress and tights and wonder what life will be like as a uni student. Parties, clubs, drinks, boys; all the fun things. Well, supposedly. I suddenly feel the need to go back down to the hotel’s bar and get this guy’s number. If I hurry, maybe I can catch him. I roll off the bed and land on my toes with my fingers on the floor so that I’m sitting in a kind of spiderman position. It’s these kinds of things that make me question my sanity. I laugh out loud again and grab my room card and purse and open the door only to find Zahra and Harper staring at me with a shocked expression on their faces. Harper is carrying a bag from Grill’d and Zahra’s hand is locked around the room card as if she was literally just about to open the door herself. “Hi!” I grin at them uncontrollably and we all burst out in laughter at me. “What happened?” Zahra says while trying to stop laughing as I float back into the room with them in tow. “Oh, I met a guy…” I turn dramatically with my hand on my forehead insinuating that I’m a woman in love from a 1960’s movie. This brings on more laughter. “Seriously? Where?” Harper asks excitedly. “I went down to the bar because I thought, hey, why not? Then I’m sitting there drinking my coke and this guy, who, might I add, is drop dead gorgeous, starts glancing at me. Eventually we make eye contact and sparks just flew!” I flop down onto my bed again and sigh, “It was magical.”
“Well, it sounds like you just began a modern day fairytale,” Zahra says as she climbs onto the bed next to me. “Oh yeah, sounds like you found your prince charming Jay,” Harper says seductively. Once again we laugh together. “Alright, who’s hungry?” Zahra asks. “Meeeee!” Harper and I yell together. We tuck into the burgers and chips which somehow silences us as we eat. Half way through my burger I remember that I was going to go back down to the bar and find my mystery man. “Oh my gosh! I forgot!” I leap off the bed and out the door before Zahra and Harper can even ask where I’m going. I slam my hand onto the elevator button and wait 10 seconds before I decide it’s taking too long and decide to take the stairs instead. I jump down them two at a time until I reach the ground level. Considering we’re on level 5 it’s a pretty good effort. I pause at the bottom of the steps and catch my breath before walking out into the bar area. I quickly scan the room searching for the mystery guy but come up empty. He’s gone.

If you want to see more of this story then give it a thumbs up or let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading! 🙂 x

One thought on “The Unexpected, Mysterious, Interesting Boy – Chapter 1

Leave a Reply

