The Unexpected, Mysterious and Interesting Boy – Chapter 2

Welcome back! If you haven’t read the first chapter then I’d recommend reading that first. I hope you enjoy this next chapter as much as I’ve loved writing it!

O-week went by in a flash that involved parties and drinking and I think (don’t take my word for it because I was completely smashed) a bit of an ass grab. Oops. I reminisce about the fun I had and the new friends I met as I sit on the train on the way to Melbourne. Every time I think about starting classes I get a swarm of butterflies doing back flips in my stomach. It’s both exciting and nerve racking at the same time. I go back to reading ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ by Stephen Chbosky to try and distract myself. Before I know it, I’m captivated by this book again. I’m up to page 160 when the train pulls into the Southern Cross Station. I hurriedly put my book back in my bag and leap from my seat for the door. Once I’m off the train and making my way up the platform, my phone goes off. I slip it out of my back pocket and see that it’s a text from Harper.

‘Good luck today gorgeous! You’ll do great! Much love xx’

God she’s cute. Sometimes I think I actually have the best friends in the whole entire world. I know it’s cheesy, but still. I shoot back a text while walking and only accidentally bump into one person, one bag and one bench. That’s success in my books. After five minutes of walking I find myself standing outside the Institute. I walk through the revolving door and cross the main reception area to the elevators where there are about 20 students waiting to be taken up. After my experience with the stairs in the hotel I decide to take the stairs up to the 3rd floor and into lecture hall number 2, the place where I have my first lecture. I’m not disappointed by the expectation that TV shows have given me of lecture halls. It’s absolutely huge. There would have to be at least 500 seats. I choose an empty seat next to one of the girls I met in O-week, Blake.
“Hey Blake, is anyone sitting here?” I ask nervously.
“Oh no sweetie, have a seat,” she hums. I take a seat and glance around the huge hall. Of the approximately 500 seats, only about 50 are filled. I check my watch. 10.07, the lecture is supposed to start in 8 minutes. I get my books out and set myself up for an interesting lecture. I then start to wonder what our Professor will talk about today. Considering it’s our first lecture, it’ll probably be something introductory. “So, Jayda, are you excited to start?” Blake asks.
“Oh yeah, I can’t wait. Hopefully we’ll get into some of the practical stuff soon.”
“Ugh same, I really want to do some nude sketches, that’d be so cool. I love drawing the unique contours and lines of the human form. It’s just so intriguing to me that every body shape is different and what some people consider to be beautiful others might see as not. Humans are crazy,” she laughs, “anyway, enough about me. What do you want to do this year as your exploratory medium?”
“I want to get into sculpting. I love working with clay, plaster, anything that I can manipulate into shapes of forms. Last year I made a statue out of air dry clay that worked out really well for me.”
“Oh nice, that sounds so exciting! I can’t wait to see what everyone is going to do.” Just as I’m about to reply, we hear a crashing sound outside the door. I look at Blake and raise my eyebrows. We both get up and go to investigate the noise. As soon as we reach the door, we see a disfigured wheelchair that appears to have been dropped from the balcony walkway overhead the hallway. At the top of the walkway stands a very smug looking guy who’s wearing all black, from head to toe. Once he sees the crowd beginning to gather, his smile drops and he backs away quickly from the edge of the balcony. As he runs off, I see a girl pull herself over to the glass panelling to look over the edge. She’s using her hands and arms to move so I can only assume it was her wheelchair that’s now a crumpled mess on the ground. Her face drops as she sees the 15 or so people that have gathered around the wheelchair. No one else seems to have noticed the girl. While trying to keep my eye on her, which is stupid because she’s obviously not going anywhere in a hurry, I walk over to the stair case and climb them to the balcony. Once I reach the top of the stairs I can see the girl slump against the glass panel while a single tear makes its way down her cheek. I approach slowly so that I don’t give her a fright. She notices me and makes a quick swipe of her hand across her face to wipe away the tears that followed the first one. From my bag I pull out a tissue and offer it to her with a sympathetic smile on my face. She smiles shyly back and accepts the tissue. “Hey, are you okay?” I ask quietly. She nods as she blows her nose.

“Did you know that guy?” I ask gently. She looks so sad that I feel absolutely horrible for even asking.
“No, I don’t. He just…I don’t know.” I feel as though she’s holding something back but I don’t have the heart to push her for information. “Do you know where we can go to get a new wheelchair? Maybe the sickbay…?” She shakes her head in disappointment. “I can call my brother, he can come and get me,” she whispers. She reaches for her phone from her bag and types in his number. After a few rings he picks up. “Hey, it’s me. I need you to come get me.” She glances at me and I instantly feel like I’m eavesdropping. I awkwardly shuffle over to the other side of the balcony and look down at more people gathering around the mangled mess of metal and rubber. When I turn around she’s hanging up the phone. “Is he coming to get you?” I ask.
“Yeah, he said he’ll just be a few minutes. He’s got to get from the other building to this one. He’s studying law.” We both nod slightly. I sit down next to her and lean my back against the cool glass. After a couple minutes of silence and while someone below sparks the idea to take the wheelchair to the registration office, we look at each other and she says, “Hey, thanks for coming up here for me. It’s nice to know someone’s here to look out for me.” She smiles weakly.
“Oh yeah, of course. Anytime.” I grin back a really dorky grin which sets me off laughing at myself. She then starts giggling as well. A few seconds later, a guy comes racing up the stairs in a huff. “Are you okay? What happened?” He breathes. I’m about to answer for her when I look at the guy and find myself face to face with mystery boy. He’s here. I stumble on my words for a few seconds while he looks at me quizzically until the girl speaks up and tells him that some guy pulled her out of her chair and threw it over the edge. Mystery boy’s face changes from panicked to murderous. I swear if that guy had come back he’d be the next thing over the edge of the balcony and would probably end up being a splat mark on the tiled floor. He walks over to her and with ease scoops up his sister and begins making his way towards the elevator. I stand there staring blankly as he waits patiently for the ding that indicates that it’s on this level. Just as the doors are opening he glances back at me with his striking blue eyes and sharp jaw line. “Thanks for looking after Sam.” He steps into the elevator and the doors shut while I process the last ten minutes. What a crazy start to my first day of uni.

Thanks for reading today guys, if you want to see more then give this a like and I’ll be sure to post another chapter again soon! Thanks 🙂 x

2 thoughts on “The Unexpected, Mysterious and Interesting Boy – Chapter 2

Leave a Reply

