Is TV Really That Bad For You?

If there’s one thing that always makes me happy, it’s tv. Now that I say it, it’s quite sad really. Tv shows have always been something that I constantly find myself glued to, whether it be Netflix or dvd or foxtel. I have so many tv shows on the go, it’s ridiculous.

Some days, though, I honestly don’t have time for tv. Those days are unfortunately becoming more and more apparent in my life as exam revision starts and my ‘all important’ exams loom over me like a big dark cloud threatening to spit lighting at me. A lot of my shows have had to be put on the back burner.

Still, on occasion, I manage to spare an hour to watch the next episode of The Fosters or another epidode of Keeping up with the Kardashians (don’t judge me, it’s my guilty pleasure). The days where this happens are usually the days where I find I relax the most.

My favourite shows give me an opportunity to get out of my head and to temporarily disconnect from the horrors of the world and, instead, allows me to live someone else’s horror. I also find that watching tv shows like Pretty Little Liars and The Flash give me inspiration when it comes to my writing, which is yet another thing that I struggle to put aside time for.

So, is tv really that bad for you? I don’t think so. It’s relaxing and not necessarily lazy, despite what people might think. Relaxing is not being lazy if it was planned. And if I want to plan a day on my holidays to watch Teen Wolf for 14 hours straight, then dammit I will.

I challenge you to ignore the judgmental looks your family gives you when you hog the tv for the entire day and instead simply say to them, “I am relaxing.”

If they counter this remark then screw them, you don’t need that kind of negativity in your life.

If you want to watch tv, don’t let anyone tell you you’re being lazy for doing so. Everyone relaxes in different ways. I just prefer to watch Gossip Girl over doing yoga or meditation. It’s a personal opinion thing.

So get out there and binge watch every tv show you’ve been wanting to watch in the span of a week and screw anyone who judges you for having pizza stains on your 3 day old shirt. Although, you should probably wash that.

Thanks for reading today guys, ’til next time, bye! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

