The Unexpected, Mysterious and Interesting Boy – Chapter 4

Ever since Percy bought me that chai, I’ve been drinking it religiously. Every morning before my classes start I make my way over to Polypop and sit in the corner booth drinking my chai, waiting for him to walk in. It’s been 8 days since I saw him last and he hasn’t shown up once. I sit with my sketch book in front of me at the booth and a 6B pencil in my hand, watching all the people walk by. This university is surprisingly busy considering the reasonably small location in the heart of the city. I snap my attention back to the sketch of my guinea pigs, Lolly and Penny. I’ve been working on it for about a week on the train to uni. So far it looks good, it just needs more shading. I start to shade around the edge of Lolly’s face when I notice Hail, Percy’s disabled sister, roll into Polypop. She makes eye contact with me and waves sweetly. I wave back a little too enthusiastically and she giggles at my apparently charming awkwardness. I notice her new wheel chair, this one is electric blue instead of black.. I remember the mangled mess of a wheel chair that was left after some random guy threw it over the side of that balcony. I honestly can’t imagine why anyone would want to hurt her. It makes me so mad whenever I think about it. Hail collects her drink from the barista and rolls over to me.
“Hey there,” she says, “how are you?”
“I’m great actually, yourself?” I reply.
“Oh yeah, can’t complain. What are you working on there?” she asks. I turn my sketchbook around to show her.
“They’re my guinea pigs, Lolly and Penny.” Her smile brightens when she sees them.
“Oh my god, I had guinea pigs as a kid but they died from the heat. I was absolutely heartbroken. I love yours though, those two are gorgeous.” She smiles again.
“Why thank you,” I giggle, “I love them too.” We both smile at each other and I start to think I’ve made a new friend. I want to ask her about Percy and find out where he’s been but I don’t want her to think anything of it.
“Well, I better be off to my class. Engineering doesn’t wait, unfortunately.” She wedges her drink between her thighs.
“Yeah I should probably go to my class too. It was good to see you, we’ll have to do it again sometime,” I say.
“Sounds good, I’ll see you around.”
Before I can stop myself I blurt out, “Wait! Where’s Percy been lately?” She smiles suspiciously.
“He’s been sick, why?” I stumble on my words before I can finally utter a sentence that makes some sense.
“Oh, I just haven’t seen him lately, you know, around uni.” She chuckles to herself.
“I’m sure you’ll see him soon.”
She turns and wheels herself away.

***

For some reason I have to be the clumsiest person on the planet. I swear it’s a genetic disorder or something that must have been passed down through the generations of my family, getting stronger the further along it travels. Just as I’m walking out of class at 2 o’clock, I trip on a bump in the pavement and fling my sketch book and a bunch of sheets that my professor handed out during class onto the walkway in front of me. I half fall onto my hands and half onto my butt. Of course, just my luck, this is the moment that Percy decides to make his reappearance. I’m half sitting, half squatting as he comes around the corner and sees me in my situation of pure embarrassment. I quickly stand up and brush off my clothes in hopes that he somehow didn’t see me. I can feel my face turning bright red as he approaches with a grin on his face.
“You know, even if you hated the class, you’re still supposed to keep the notes,” he teases.
I laugh lightly and stick my tongue out at him. God, why did I do that? What am I, 7? He smiles at me anyway.
“I just thought, you know what? I haven’t been on a trip for a while so, hell, why not plan an impromptu trip right now?” I joke back. He laughs as he bends down to help me pick up my things. He hands me my sketch book while I grab my papers. It’s like one of those really weird cliché moments in the movie where the guy hands the girl her books and they both stare into each other’s eyes for what seems like an eternity. Except, we make eye contact for about 0.3 seconds before our eyes flit away from each other’s gaze. Once I’m standing with all of my things again, we stand in silence.
“Thanks,” I say, “for helping me with my books.”
“Anytime. But, you know, next time maybe you should plan your trip in a more luxurious location. Like maybe on some carpet, maybe even some grass…” I playfully punch his arm as we both start laughing.
“I will keep that advice in mind next time, thank you.” He smiles again and begins to turn to walk away. Instinctively I reach out and grab his arm.
“Wait, before you go, do you want to come to my party tomorrow night? It’s at my place, back in Leppin, but it’s going to be fun.”
“Yeah sure, just text me the details-“
“I don’t have your number,” I say quickly.
“Here,” he says, “text me.” He gently grabs my hand and takes a pen out from his coat pocket. He messily writes his number on the back of my hand as I try to subdue the huge smile that’s creeping across my face. When he finishes, he winks at me sexily and walks away. I stare at the phone number on my hand and I can’t believe what just happened. Thank you clumsy feet for being the ultimate wingman. As I look at the number, a problem comes to the forefront of my mind. There’s just one issue with inviting Percy to my party. At the moment, there is no party.

Thanks for reading today guys, I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

