Why Stress Is Literally Going To Kill You.

Stress is something that I’ve dealt with my whole life. Even when I was little, small things like not getting my reader back in time would stress me out and I’d be an anxious little wreck. As I’ve gotten older, more and more things have been stressing me out.

Recently this year I’ve had a break up, a lot of the people who I thought were my friends turn their backs because of said break up, and one of my best friends tell me she didn’t want anything to do with me. On top of that I’ve also been trying to survive year 12.

This week I finish Year 12 and prepare for my upcoming exams. It’s also my birthday tomorrow. While I’m excited, I’m also dreading my birthday because I’m going for my license, something that REALLY stresses me out. I am also scared to finish school and venture out into the unknown world of taxes and rent.

It’s not all bad though. I’ve become really close with a few people in my life and I’ve learnt a lot about myself. Nevertheless, stress is still looming over me.

Stress is defined as ‘a state of mental or emotional strain or tension resulting from adverse or demanding circumstances.’ Stress is not good for your body for extended periods of time which is why it’s not good for your mental and physical self to be constantly stressed.

Stress that’s left unchecked can contribute to health problems, such as high blood pressure, heart disease, obesity and diabetes. Being too stressed can also give you headaches, muscle pain, stomach problems and also insomnia.

When your body is put under that much pressure, the organs can be damaged and your immune system may eventually shut down. Stress can also be the cause of early onset of memory problems like dementia and alzheimers.

Psychologically it can also increase anxiety levels, irritability, depression and decrease motivation, making you a bit of a sad potato that doesn’t want to leave the couch.

If you’re in a state of stress for too long, it can turn into something called chronic stress which simply means ‘a state of prolonged tension from internal or external stressors, which may cause various physical manifestions.’

Stress also links closely with anxiety as the two go hand in hand a lot of the time. Being too stressed makes you really anxious and vice versa. The best way to avoid a full blown breakdown is to seek help and guidance in the early stages of stress to ensure you have the coping mechanisms to deal with your stress.

Go and see a counselor or psychologist to help you with your stress or try yoga or meditation if seeing someone is not your thing. Even something simple like talking yo a friend or family member can really do wonders. Just do something about it.

A little bit of stress is good for you as it helps to keep you motivated with a little extra push in the right direction. However, if you feel yourself getting too stressed, that’s a sign that you’ve got too much on your plate and you need to find a better way of coping.

Sometimes all we need is a little bit of help from our friends and family and to binge watch Teen Wolf on Netflix for a whole day while eating honey puffs and salt and vinegar chips.

Thanks for reading today guys, I hope you enjoyed this post. Bye 🙂 x

PS. Don’t judge me on how I like to spend my Sundays…

Leave a Reply

